I Want to Burn

September 27, 2011

I want to burn.

I want to be gripped by the fire of God.

I’m provoked by stories of men who were wholly possessed by God. Roberts, Brainerd, Whitefield, Finney, Edwards, Seymour, Lake. Just the mention of their names stirs my heart and creates a longing for more of God in my life.

I’m equally provoked by my own dullness. I find my life too tidy, too presentable, too tame.  I want a heart that’s inflamed, consumed with passion, moving with fervor and zeal. How about you? Do you want to burn?

It doesn’t matter if it doesn’t look presentable at times. The public presentation isn’t the issue. A burning building isn’t necessarily pretty, but it emits a lot of light and heat. That’s what we are called to be, burning and shining ones.

This is not something we can muster up in our own strength by human zeal, but it is something we can pursue. I sense God urging His people to move out of passivity and into pursuit. He loves the chase. “Seek me with all your heart…You will find me.” “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” He wants us to seek Him til He seeks us, pursue Him til He pursues us, chase the Fire, til the Fire chases us. Oh! that He would catch me and consume me.

Discontentment can be a great motivator. As long a we are content with unction-less intercession and powerless preaching, we will not burn. If we are content with less, less we will have. But if we allow discontentment to direct us and not depress us…It will drive us into desire that won’t be denied.

It is a tragedy to live with less than what He has promised. He promised greater glory than Moses had. He promised the fullness of God filling our inner man. He, who is risen from the dead, promised that we could know the very power of His resurrection. Living with less cannot be an option when so much is available.

What I’m talking about doesn’t come easy. God never gives what is precious cheaply. But the reward far outweighs the cost. To live without regret requires that we live in pursuit of His fullness. Anything less will find us sorrowful at the great review.

Holy possession is what I desire – to be wholly possessed with His fire. Nothing more is needed, nothing less is acceptable. Oh, Father, I want to burn.

I pray that the One who baptizes with fire and the Holy Spirit, would send His fire, holy fire, upon our hearts that we might be set ablaze for Him.

“Oh God of burning, cleansing flame: Send Your fire. Your blood-bought gift today we claim: Send the Fire today. Look down and see this waiting host and send the promised Holy Ghost, we need another Pentecost, Send the Fire today.

God of Elijah, hear our cry: Send Your Fire. Make us fit to live or die: Send the Fire today. Burn up every trace of sin and bring the light and glory in, the revolution now begin, Send the fire today.

Oh, see us on your altar lay, We give our lives to you today, So crown the offering now we pray: Send the Fire today.”- from God of Burning Cleansing Flame by William Booth

5 responses to I Want to Burn

  1. 

    wow… speachless… i’ve been listening to your preachings on the book of revelation and i can’t get enough… that’s all i can say… speachless

  2. 

    We have to rid ourselves of systems of the world that cause us to compromise. Sometimes not compromising means we become things that don’t look like success in our Americanized view of success. Our success no longer becomes defined by what is seen in terms of earthly riches & power, but heavenly riches which are stored in our heart, as our heart becomes more like God’s heart, we become wealthy in peace, love, joy, kindness, understanding, and self-control.

  3. 

    Two words: I Concur………………….

  4. 

    Being messed up this week by, ‘He makes His ministers flames of fire,’ Heb 1:7. We need a greater baptism

  5. 

    thanks for being a vessel!